About Us 2022-2023

CATESOL Board of Directors 2022-2023

Voting Members (elected)

CATESOL's membership is 2,242 strong, with five Levels, 6 chapters, and 13 Interest Groups. 60 members serve on the Board of Directors, and all members volunteer time and expertise to further the mission of CATESOL.

Anthony Burik


Anthony Burik

Song Hong


Song Hong

Bahiyyih Hardacre

V.P. of Communication

Bahiyyih Hardacre

Vincent Nuñez


Vincent Nuñez

Tammy WIk


Tammy Wik

Sedique Popal

University Level Chair

Sedique Popal

Michelle McNeary

Community College Level Chair

Michelle McNeary

Patty Sanchez

Adult Education Level Chair

Patty Sanchez

Julie Goldman

K-12 Level Chair

Julie Goldman

Bessie Karras-Lazaris

Intensive English Program Level Chair

Bessie Karras-Lazaris

Ondine Gage

Chapter Council Chair

Ondine Gage

Nina Dellona

Interest Group Chair

Nina Dellona

portrait placeholder

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Chair


Assistants to Voting Members (elected)

Assistant Treasurer: Kimmie Tang

Past Treasurer: Nirmla Flores

Assistant Secretary: 

Chapter Council Assistant Chair:

Interest Group Assistant Chair: Randall Rightmire

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Assistant Chair: 

College/University Level Assistant Chair: Anna Joaquin

Community College Level Assistant Chair: Dyan Collings Ralph

Adult Education Level Assistant Chair: Roz Tolliver

K-12 Level Assistant Chair: Lorine Erika Saito

Intensive English Program Level Assistant Chair: Kate Kessler

Chapter Coordinators

Bay Area Chapter Coordinator: Merve Beyazit Taner

Los Padres Chapter Coordinator: Randy Rightmire

Orange County Chapter Coordinator: Femia Scarfone

San Diego Chapter Coordinator: Burcu Chatham

San Gabriel Valley Chapter Coordinator: Jim Hays

Capital Area Chapter Coordinator:

Inland Empire Chapter Coordinator: 

Saroyan Chapter Coordinator: 

Steinbeck Chapter Coordinator: 

Yosemite Chapter Coordinator: 

Interest Group Coordinators

More about Interest Groups

CIRT-IG Co-coordinators: Margi Wald and  Nicole Brun-Mercer 

CIRT-IG Assistant Coordinators: Karla Torres

CSU-IG Co-coordinators: Bahiyyih Hardacre and Jaydene Elvin

CSU-IG Assistant Coordinator: 

ELLE-IG Coordinator:

ELLE-IG Assistant Coordinator:

IC-IG Coordinator: Michele McConnell

IC-IG Assistant Coordinator: Henry W. Nguyen

LGBTQ+-IG Coordinator: Dyan Collings Ralph

LGBTQ+-IG Assistant Coordinator:

MW-IG Coordinator: Nicole Brun-Mercer

MW-IG Assistant Coordinators: Ryan Detwiler

NNLEI-IG Coordinator:

NNLEI-IG Assistant Coordinator: Adriana Bessa

OT-IG Coordinator: Katrina Tamura

OT-IG Assistant Coordinator: Kristi Reyes

PTE-IG Coordinator:

PTE-IG Assistant Coordinator:

RC-IG Co-coordinators: Sherry MacKay and Anne York-Herjeczki

RC-IG Assistant Coordinator: Talley Caruso

RW-IG Co-coordinators: Sonia Estima and Kara Mac Donald

RW-IG Assistant Coordinator:

TELL-IG Coordinator: Cara Lazarus

TELL-IG Assistant Coordinator: Johanna Gleason

TEW-IG Coordinator: Chantal Pons

TEW-IG Assistant Coordinator: Kelly York-Herjeczki

TOP-IG Co-coordinators: Marsha Chan, Randy Rightmire, and Patryk Mrozek

TOP-IG Assistant Coordinator: 

USC-IG Coordinator:

USC-IG Co-Assistant Coordinators: Holly Yi Gao

Publication Editors

CATESOL Web Manager: Marsha Chan

CATESOL Newsletter Editor: Kara Mac Donald

CATESOL Blog Editor: Michelle Skowbo

CATESOL Update Editor: Bahiyyih Hardacre

CATESOL Journal Co-Editors: Robert Kohls and Rebekah Taveau

CATESOL Journal Consulting Editor: Mark Roberge

CATESOL Journal Managing Editor: Margi Wald

Event Registrar: Marsha Chan

Social Media Coordinator: 


California Council for Adult Educators (CCAE) Liaison: Anthony Burik

California Teachers Association (CTA) Liaison: Chastity Garcia

Californians Together (CalTog) Co-liaisons: Judy O'Loughlin and Kristi Ward

CATESOL Education Foundation Liaison: Anthony Burik

CATESOL Central Regional Liaison:

CATESOL LA Regional Liaison: 

CATESOL Northern Regional Liaison: Kara Mac Donald

TESOL Affiliate Representative: Anthony Burik

Additional Leadership Roles

Advocacy and Policy Advisor: Judy O'Loughlin

Graduate Student Representative: Agnes (Ruoyu) Fu

Historian: John Liang

Job Board Coordinator: Alisa Takeuchi

Outreach Coordinator: Anthony Burik

Professional Development Coordinator: Marsha Chan

YouTube Coordinator: Bentley Cavazzi

2023 Northern Regional Conference Chair:

2023 LA Regional Conference Chair:

2023 Central Regional Conference Chair:

2023 State Conference Co-Chairs: