About Us 2021-2022

CATESOL Board of Directors 2021-2022

Voting Members (elected)

CATESOL's membership is 2,242 strong, with five Levels, 6 chapters, and 13 Interest Groups. 60 members serve on the Board of Directors, and all members volunteer time and expertise to further the mission of CATESOL.

Anthony Burik


Anthony Burik

Susan Gaer

Past President 2019-2021

Susan Gaer

Nirmla Flores


Nirmla Flores

Tammy WIk


Tammy Wik

Emmy Min

College/University Level Chair

Emmy J. Min

portrait placeholder

Community College Level Chair

Michelle McNeary

Song Hong

Adult Education Level Chair

Song Hong

L. Erika Saito

K-12 Level Chair

L. Erika Saito

Fawn Supernaw

Intensive English Program Level Chair

Fawn Supernaw

Kara Mac Donald

Chapter Council Chair

Kara Mac Donald

Daniela Lup

Interest Group Chair

Daniela Lup

Nancy Kwang Johnson

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Chair

Nancy Kwang Johnson

Assistants to Voting Members (elected)

Assistant Treasurer: Vincent Nuñez

Past Treasurer: Robb Hill

Assistant Secretary: 

College/University Level Assistant Chair: Sedique Popal

Community College Level Assistant Chair: 

Adult Education Level Assistant Chair: Patty Sanchez

K-12 Level Assistant Chair:  Julie Goldman

Intensive English Program Level Assistant Chair: Bessie Karras-Lazaris

Chapter Council Assistant Chair: Ondine Gage

Interest Group Assistant Chair: Nina Dellona

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Assistant Chair: Jacqueline Vega Lopez

Chapter Coordinators

Bay Area Chapter Coordinator: Didem Ekici

Capital Area Chapter Coordinator: Elizabeth Dickie

Los Padres Chapter Coordinator: Randy Rightmire

Orange County Chapter Co-coordinators: Savyonne Steindler and Femia Scarfone

San Diego Chapter Coordinator: Ryane Willis

San Gabriel Valley Chapter Coordinator: Jim Hays

Inland Empire Chapter Coordinator: 

Saroyan Chapter Coordinator: 

Steinbeck Chapter Coordinator: 

Yosemite Chapter Coordinator: 

Interest Group Coordinators

More about Interest Groups

CIRT-IG Coordinator: Margi Wald

CIRT-IG Co-Assistant Coordinators: Nicole Brun-Mercer and Lily Lewis

CSU-IG Coordinator: Bahiyyih Hardacre

CSU-IG Assistant Coordinator: Jaydene Elvin

ELLE-IG Coordinator:

ELLE-IG Assistant Coordinator: Sylvia Henel

IC-IG Coordinator: Autumn Witt

IC-IG Assistant Coordinator: 

LGBTQ+-IG Coordinator: Dyan Collings Ralph

LGBTQ+-IG Assistant Coordinator: Erin Peter Kourelis

MW-IG Coordinator: Marely Cervantes

MW-IG Co-Assistant Coordinators: Marci Gomez-Lee and Cheryl Bucholtz-Magallon

NNLEI-IG Coordinator: Vanessa Quezada

NNLEI-IG Assistant Coordinator: Virginia Gallardo

OT-IG Coordinator: Katrina Tamura

OT-IG Assistant Coordinator: Kristi Reyes

PTE-IG Coordinator:

PTE-IG Assistant Coordinator:

RC-IG Co-Coordinators: Judith O'Loughlin and Brenda Custodio

RW-IG Coordinator: Sonia Estima

RW-IG Assistant Coordinator: Kara Mac Donald

TELL-IG Coordinator: Cara Lazarus

TELL-IG Assistant Coordinator: Kristi Reyes

TEW-IG Coordinator: Chantal Pons

TEW-IG Assistant Coordinator: 

TOP-IG Co-Coordinators: Marsha Chan and Randy Rightmire

TOP-IG Assistant Coordinator: Patryk Mrozek

USC-IG Coordinator: Nancy Kwang Johnson

USC-IG Co-Assistant Coordinators: Holly Yi Gao and Jacqueline Vega Lopez

Publication Editors

CATESOL Blog Editor: Michelle Skowbo

CATESOL Journal Co-Editors: Robert Kohls and Rebekah Taveau

CATESOL Newsletter Editor: Kara Mac Donald

CATESOL Update Editor: Monica Rosso Tabrizi

CATESOL Web Manager: Marsha Chan


California Council for Adult Educators (CCAE) Liaison: Anthony Burik

California Teachers Association (CTA) Liaison: Chastity Garcia

Californians Together (CalTog) Co-liaisons: Judy O'Loughlin and Kristi Ward

CATESOL Education Foundation Liaison: Susan Gaer

CATESOL LA Regional Liaison: 

CATESOL Northern Regional Liaison: Kara Mac Donald

TESOL Affiliate Representative: Susan Gaer

Additional Leadership Roles

Advocacy and Policy Advisor: Judy O'Loughlin

Event Registrar: Marsha Chan

Graduate Student Representative: Agnes (Ruoyu) Fu

Historian: John Liang

Jobs Board Coordinator: Alisa Takeuchi

Outreach Coordinator: Anthony Burik

Professional Development Coordinator: Marsha Chan

Social Media Coordinator: Nancy Kwang Johnson

YouTube Coordinator: 

2022 Spring Virtual Conference Co-Chairs:

2022 State Conference Co-Chairs: Nirmla Flores and Bentley Cavazzi

Incoming Board 2022-2023

Song Hong, President-Elect

Bahiyyih Hardacre de Cerqueira, Vice President of Communication

Didem Ekici, Assistant Secretary

Kimmie Tang, Assistant Treasurer

Lorine Erika Saito, Assistant K-12 Level Chair 

Roz Tolliver, Assistant Adult Ed Level Chair 

Dyan Collings Ralph, Assistant Community College Level Chair 

Anna Joaquin, Assistant College/University Level Chair 

Kate Kessler, Assistant Intensive English Program Level Chair 

Randall Rightmire, Assistant Interest Group Chair

Nancy Kwang Johnson, Assistant Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Chair